Kelso Longview chamber recognizes leaders in business and education

//Kelso Longview chamber recognizes leaders in business and education

Kelso Longview chamber recognizes leaders in business and education

May 4th, 2018

The Kelso Longview Chamber of Commerce Pillars of Strength and Crystal Apple Awards on Wednesday night recognized excellence in education and business.

The event, held at the Lower Columbia College Rose Center for the Arts, also awarded $22,000 in scholarships to high school graduates.

Sandy Catt of the Longview School District and Rick Davis of the Kelso School District both received Lifetime Achievement Awards.

Recipients of the Crystal Apple Education Awards include:

K-12 Classified Person of the Year: April Huff of Kelso School District

K-12 Teacher of the Year: Travis Ruhter of Mark Morris High School

K-12 Administrator of the Year: Rich Reeves of R.A. Long High School

Higher Education Classified Person of the Year: Michaela Jackson, Early Learning Center director at Lower Columbia College

High Education Teacher of the Year: Ann Williamson, Faculty Education Instructor at Lower Columbia College

Workforce Education Best Practice Business Achievement: Cowlitz PUD

Workforce Education Best Practice Individual Achievement: Spencer Wiggins of Northwest Motor Services

Recipients of the Pillars of Strength Business Awards include:

Small Non-Profit of the Year: The Children’s Justice and Advocacy Center

Large Non-Profit of the Year: Columbia Wellness

Small Business of the Year: Mill City Grill

Large Business of the Year: JH Kelly

Businessperson of the Year: Peter Bennett with Millennium Bulk Terminals

Rising Star: Brooke Fisher-Clark with United Way

The “Walt Naze” Ambassador of the Year: Marlene Johanson with Heritage Bank

Recipients of the Lower Columbia Professionals Scholarship include:

Ashley Masters of Kalama High School ($1,500)

Ben Bergonzine of Kelso High School ($1,000)

Braxton Martin of Kelso High School ($1,000)

Brooke Deering of Mark Morris High School ($1,000)

Bryce Miller of Kelso High School ($1,000)

Ellia McCoy of Kelso High School ($1,000)

Everett Pennington of Kelso High School ($1,000)

Grace Parcel of Three Rivers Christian School ($1,000)

Haylee Hooper of Castle Rock High School ($1,000)

Julia Hallowell of Kelso High School ($1,500)

Marcie Doolin of Three Rivers Christian School ($1,000)

Megan Slind of Mark Morris High School ($1,000)

Rachel Johnson of Kelso High School ($1,000)

Rebecca Luff of Kelso High School ($1,500)

Robert Bartlett of Kelso High School ($1,500)

Recipients of the Education Committee’s Maria Harris Scholarship with the LCC Foundation include:

Brooklyn Silva of Mark Morris High School ($1,000)

Carolyn Wilson of Kalama High School ($1,000)

Gabrielle Bennett of Mark Morris High School ($1,500)

Kendal Bishop of Castle Rock High School ($1,000)

Alexis Doble was awarded the LCC scholarship a few months ago.

Courtesy of The Daily News, Longview, WA

By | 2018-12-06T00:31:45+00:00 December 6th, 2018|News|Comments Off on Kelso Longview chamber recognizes leaders in business and education

About the Author: